Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Electoral process

EXERCISING THEIR RIGHT - Students in grades 3 through 6 had the opportunity to vote for Carr Student Council Officers Friday morning. After a weeklong campaign -  that included putting up posters, making speeches and asking for votes - students elected a president, vice president, secretary and reporter/treasurer. The third and fourth grade students voted in their classrooms. After talking about the election procedures teachers in fifth and sixth grades set up a polling place in the Carr Library. The students, with the assistance of Yvonne Phillips, signed in to vote before sitting at one of four polling stations to mark their ballots. Students who qualified to run for office included: Bella Hancock and Brandon Rushing, president; Gabriella Buckingham, Taylor Cantrell, Joey Fisette, Allie Gibson, Brittany Pirtle, ad Telesha Taylor, vice president; Elizabeth Pirtle, Jacey Rushing and Riley Wilson, secretary; and Jada Martin, Takyra Taylor and Jamerius Williams for reporter/treasurer. Final tabulations were expected to be completed and the results released by the end of the school day Friday.



Back to School News      Print News Article